Board Members

Steve Bullock - Chair

Image of Steve Bullock Steve retired as Lewisham’s directly-elected mayor in May 2018 after serving four terms. Since 2010 he had been serving as the London Councils’ Executive lead on Housing and the Mayor of London’s Homes for Londoners Board.

Steve is a director of the Housing & Finance Institute which seeks to boost the capacity of the sector and secure increased delivery.  He is continuing to work with some individual local councils on improvement as part of the Local Government Association (LGA) Peer Programme. Following his retirement Sir Steve was appointed as the Representative Deputy Lieutenant for Lewisham.

He served as Deputy Chair of the LGA and chaired its Commercial Board.  He previously led the LGA’s work on Human Resources including oversight of national pay bargaining for the sector.

His other interests include theatre, rambling, football and traditional music.  He is a patron of the Saltburn Festival of Folk Music, Dance and Song which takes place in North Yorkshire each August.

Tracey White

Tracey White member of SHP board Tracey lives in Wallington and has worked in the financial services sector. She is an audit professional with specialist knowledge of operational risk. Tracey is looking to use her experience to improve services for the tenants and leaseholders.

Barry Russell

Barry Russell SHP board member Barry has lived in Sutton for over 25 years. A trained barrister, he has worked in finance and  residential property development and lettings. He was Housing spokesman when he was a local councillor and has been Chair of Governors of a local school for over 18 years. 

Gary Miles

Gary Miles SHP board member Gary has over 20 years' experience working as an HR Practitioner and Business Manager. He was the director of Roffey Institute and is a fellow of the Chartered Institute of Personal Development. He has worked with a range of sectors, including in higher education, central and local governments as well as housing.


Jo Hills

Jo Hills SHP Board member Jo is a senior manager within the housing sector. She has worked as an engineer, manager and director across the public, charitable and commercial sectors in construction and maintenance since the 1990s. She is a a Chartered member of the Institution of Civil Engineers and fellow of the Chartered Management Institute.


Joyce Melican

Joyce Mellican SHP board member Joyce has been a resident of Sutton for the majority of her life. Joyce has had a varied career in working in social housing in Sutton, Croydon and Merton council and served on the Roundshaw Steering Group as Residents Representative for the regeneration of the estate and remains on the resident panel.

Nick Emmerson

Nick Emmerson SHP Board Member Nick is a resident of Sutton, volunteer, and former councillor. Previously the Vice Chair of Housing, Economy & Business committee and former lead councillor for Council Tax Reduction Scheme, Crisis Loans & Grants and Trading Standards. He was also the Vice Chair for Cheam North & Worcester Park Area Committee.

Jan Winning

Image of Jan Winning Jan has been a resident of Sutton for the past 40 years. Her career has included work in community safety, housing and race equality.  Jan has been a member of the Performance Committee as a resident representative since its launch over 18 months ago.

Diane Pearson

Image of Diane Pearson

Diane was a resident of Sutton for 30 years and remains a local resident. A senior finance professional working in the not for profit sector, she has experience in partnership working between various local authority departments and health. Diane is looking to use her experiences and expertise to help develop the services for Sutton tenants.

Nick Samhembere - Co-optee to the Audit & Risk Committee

Nick Samhembere (Co-optee Board member) - Independent SHP Board Member Independent Member